My old dog

This is going to be a really short post.  I have a beautiful old brown dog called Nancy and she will be 15 in October.  A dear friend rang me one day, she wanted me to come over as she had some visitors she wanted me to meet.  One of her visitors was a lovely young man called Matt, who was in Brisbane for an art exhibition (his own art) and had brought along his faithful kelpie and one of her pups.  Needless to say it was love at first sight and after 2 interviews with Matt, he agreed to give her to me.  She came from Mundubbera, her mother was a beautiful kelpie called Lacey and her father was the naughty border collie who lived on the farm next door.

Nancy has accompanied me through my lifes journey.  We moved to Sunshine Beach from Brisbane when she was about 4 months old.  A year later we did a road trip to Cairns to start a new life with my then partner.  He became my husband and is now my ex-husband.  Throughout these life experiences, Nancy’s love has never faltered.  Together we moved back to the sunshine coast just after cyclone Larry in 2006.  My life is wonderful now but I try to remind myself to not take my furry companion for granted.  My new life involves a new man and his beautiful child and its so easy to get caught up in the joy of sharing my life .

So to my dear old Nancy Moo (or Mooey, Mooey Pooey and of course, darhling) – I am so grateful that you came into my life.  I wish I could have you forever but I realise that your days are probably numbered.  I will do everything I can to honour your love and faithfulness.  You are the most awesomest dog in the world xxx

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jude
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 21:13:40

    Ohw Lyd… 😥

    Reply

Leave a Reply

