worth the wait?

I was driving home from Brisbane late last night and was thinking about the concept of ‘being time poor’.  I was thinking about those electric kettles that boil water in 15 seconds and teabags and pasta sauce in a bottle and beef strips and …… It was a long drive!  Obviously, these things were invented because people in general don’t have enough time.  Somewhere along the way, taste and quality were compromised for speed but this compromise has been accepted without too much of a fight.  I love a nice cup of tea but I’m also happy to use a teabag occasionally.  So it doesn’t taste as good but I’m happy to do it because its easy.  Its an interesting thing to think about!  Perhaps life is one big compromise.

So back to the cup of tea.  I have an old school kettle that sits on my gas stove and takes ages to boil.  Also, my microwave died a few years ago and I haven’t replaced it.  I’ve adapted to this state (of lack of kitchen gadgetry) and found that it has forced me to do things differently, often a little more slowly.  And I like it.  In the mornings when I’m waiting for the kettle to boil, I prepare breakfast for my hens, feed and water them, and, enjoy a few minutes of time in my garden.  Whenever I can, I make my tea in a pot and drink it from a pretty china teacup.  I love the ritual of making the tea and I think the wait makes it taste even better. 

Perhaps in this busy world of ours, these rituals give us an opportunity to slow down and enjoy some simple things.  Do you have any rituals you enjoy?

Leave a Reply

