rhyme time

My gorgeous partner will soon be turning 40. We were discussing party invites and he said that he wanted the invite to be a Dr Seuss style poem. My heart flushed with love at this point as he can be a truly abstract and whacky thinker – who else would think of this so quickly and surely? Then I panicked a little as its not an easy task.

The next day I sat down with Green Eggs and Ham (the book, not my breakfast) and tried to come up with something. Big blank. The next day nothing. So I decided to not think about it for a while. While driving to work on monday, words started to join together in my mind. I got to work and quickly wrote them down. That night in the shower, more words started to flow.
As i haven’t asked him if I can name him on this little blog, I will refer to him as Maxwell Cane. So here is my poem and you need to read it in a sing song voice!

Whose day? What day?
Maxwell Canes birthday

Maxwell surfs and Maxwell laughs
Maxwell wouldn’t ride giraffes
Would you, would you ride giraffes
Please sir don’t you bring carafes

Carafes of what, carafes of wine
No sir, I want beer with mine
Come and party if you must
78 pingpong street at dusk

Would you , could you, when o when
29th October at seven pm

I’ve got a few more days to finesse it – if there are any poets out there – suggestions most welcome

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wordsfallfrommyeyes
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 06:40:47

    I seriously love hearing about these wonderful things husbands & wives do – unique to their relationship. Dr Seuss is so amazing. I’ve actually LEARNT about him through WordPress – have seen a few rhymes on blogs – and he was very interesting; he had something to say. I think the birthday rhyme you’ve got going is wonderful. I reckon it’s going to be an awesome day 🙂

    Reply

    • lydiamissmoffat
      Oct 06, 2011 @ 10:24:17

      Thank you! My partner has a 3 year old son who loves bedtime stories. Dr Seuss books are often nonsensical (don’t know if thats how you spell it) but the rhymes are so much fun. The book ‘Fox in Sox’ is heaps of fun to read and littlies seem to love it. With your talent for words, I reckon you would love it! Ha ha, and you’ve got Daniel as a great excuse for reading it.

      Reply

  2. cityhippyfarmgirl
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 12:22:43

    Oh lots of fun! That’s an awesome idea for a party and I love the look of the invites. No words of poetry from me, but now I’m feeling the pressure to organise a 40th birthday as well- eeeek!

    Reply

    • lydiamissmoffat
      Oct 06, 2011 @ 13:33:12

      thank you. I’m spending all my time now thinking about the food and the music – key ingredients for a good party me thinks. And the friends it goes without saying!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

