rocket pesto

My little winter garden is overflowing with rocket and green leaves but I’m not really loving my salads at the mo. Its never cold for long in Queensland so I’m enjoying some slow cooked meals, roasts and winter foods whilst I can. Oh but what to do with all those greens!

So I decided to make a rocket pesto with toasted macadamia nuts and green chilli.  The nuts come from a local grower who sells at a sunday market, the chillies came from my garden.  I won’t bore you with the detail but I added extra virgin olive oil, salt and finished with some parmesan.

Its a gorgeous colour and full of flavour but a tad on the bitter side. I’m not too sure as yet what I’ll do with it.  Any suggestions out there?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judemuse
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 20:09:37

    Perhaps on a nice steak instead of a salsa verde? mmmm… what about something salty? Usually if you add salt to bitter things it brings out any sweetness… Or perhaps drizzled over a wintery salad (roast root veg, feta, quinoa and some pear?)… have fun! xx

    Reply

  2. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 13:45:36

    I know what you mean, salads and cold weather just feel so wrong! 😛 But rocket pesto? That feels right! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

