Mary, Mary quite contrary

The thing I like about getting older is the way in which you understand yourself better.  I’ve recently realised that I’m quite the contrary gal.  When I’m being contrary, I would deny it 100%.  But when I think back about it, I realise how obnoxious I can be.

And I think that being contrary does make me obnoxious, but it can also make me a bit different, a bit unusual (please say that in a Kath and Kym voice) and a bit quirky.

Early last year I was lunching with some lovely, well to do ladies and they were all gushing about their love of their iphones.  I don’t know why but my mental reaction was swift and determined – I would never own an iphone.  See what I mean about obnoxious.  I truly don’t know why I react this way but I do, and the thinking stays with me, I tend not to sway.  So of course I got what I call my iphoney, actually a samsung galaxy II, and I love it.  And I obnoxiously find myself telling people how great it is.
Then there’s my house renovation.  In early 2009 I had to pack the house up and move out so that the builders could come in and do my much desired major renovation.  Around this time my then husband who was working away told me that he never wanted to come back.  Like a few weeks before the reno was starting.  So I had to pack up and move out (including packing all his stuff), work out how to be ‘seperated’, manage the build on my own, oh and I slipped and broke my wrist. Yep, that a post of its own, lets call it the shittiest year of my life post.  Post script – I moved back into my perfect renovated house in November that year, met the gorgeous M that same month and 2010 was probably the awesomest year of my life.

So back to renovating.  When people would ask about what type of kitchen I would put in, they’d often add ‘so you’ll be getting a stone bench top won’t you’.  Obviously, up would pop Contrary Mary’s ugly head!  When chatting to my architect, I found myself telling him that I wanted my kitchen to be orange and under no circumstance was I getting a stone bench top.  He’d reply ‘great’, bless his soul.  And I don’t think he was being ironic.  And so it continued through to the bathrooms, the taps (I don’t want mixers – the builders thought I was nuts) and my choice of external colours.  But, it works for me and I love my house.  Heres a snap of my kitchen – you’re allowed to hate it!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kylie clavarino
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 23:26:22

    It’s inspired, not contrary at all. Love it. I could happily cook in that space. K x

    Reply

  2. Sarah higgins
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 20:16:07

    I love ur kitchen Lyd!! Orange makes me happy 🙂 plus u have the added bonus of a view of the puppies and chooks out the back… Chatting with the neighbors from the kitchen sink.. And seeing who is walking past out the front… What more could u want! And… Who needs a stainless steel fridge ?? 😉 x ps… And yes, Kylie you could cook anywhere!!!!

    Reply

  3. mumabulous
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 20:05:16

    In all seriousness, I luurve your orange kitchen. Looking forward to the next lunchbox.
    Love Mumabulous

    Reply

Leave a Reply

