Sydney eating

I’ve just come back from 5 days in Sydney at a conference.  I’d love to share some of my dining/food experiences with you so here is my first attempt at a restaurant review style post.  Before I start – where do you go to get a decent cup of coffee in Sydney?  We were staying at Darling harbour and I had 3 terrible coffees (couldn’t drink 2 of these), one nice but a bit lacking in the balls department (sorry – thats official coffee speak) and one good brew.  I guess I should have asked this question before I left. So onto the dining.

The day before I left I was chatting with my neighbours (who are from Sydney) about wanting a great bowl of pho.  Where I live there are no Vietnamese restaurants full stop.  Their son lives in Sydney and swears to know the best pho joint in town. So off to Pho Pasteur we go (it sounds good if you say fur pasteur)(it almost rhymes but why) at 709 George st. Its daggy, brightly lit, old laminated menus plus menus on the walls, spelling mistakes a plenty amd full of happy asian diners. Yippee, happy days, here we go.

They have various types of pho on the menu $10 -$12, noodle salads and rice noodles.  I was after beef pho, but curious about the special beef pho.  The waiter told us that in addition to the raw thin slices of beef fillet, there are 4 types of beef cooked in the pho.  I wasn’t in my most adventurous mood and was a bit scared of getting some stomach lining or other such delicacy in my soup and opted for the standard.  Good choice gf, I saw a couple at the next table exchanging all manner of innards over their pho.  I love food, I’m pretty willing to try different things but just can’t seem to go for offal.  So here it is, it was delicious, served with wedges of lemon, bean shoots and vietnamese mint.  A mazing!!

Now to Breakfast!

I forgot to write down the address but we wandered down to a lovely little french cafe called Le Depot.  Its on the same road as Thorpies aquatic centre and the powerhouse museum and the provider of my best coffee in sydney.

I couldn’t face a carb heavy breakfast (I’m a bit irritable in the bowel department if you know what I mean) so ordered the salmon, potato and leek tart.  It was devine and oh yeah, it cost $6.  Coffee and tart cost $9 unreal.  My friends/work colleagues had – toasted cereal with rhubarb compote and yoghurt, a strawberry tart and a toasted croissant.

They also had the most wonderful looking cakes, fruit flans, baguettes etc. and all for a really good price.  So Le Depot – I’m a fan.  Thats 2 great dining experiences and you won’t be hearing about the not so great ones.  My next post will be about the wonderful night we had at Red Lantern on Riley and, Luke was in the house woo hoo

By the way, I was at the International Congress of Dietetics, check out some of the trade exhibitors

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laurie
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 21:48:20

    Yummy rollicking tales Lydia. Thanks

    Reply

  2. Mumabulous
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 06:22:25

    We often take the girls to Thorpie pool so will check out Le Depot next time.
    Thanks for the tip.
    Love Mumabulous

    Reply

  3. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 18:34:14

    Lydia, looks like you found some good eats while you were here! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

