summer + scarf = right or wrong?

Confession up front, I’m no fashion blogger.  Any fashion advice given here should be taken at your own risk.  So, over the last 2 winters, I have really embraced the scarf. They add colour to a dark outfit, they keep my neck warm and they can take an outfit from ordinary to stylish.  So I’ve become a fan.  Not wanting to let go of a good thing, I’ve found myself donning a scarf in summer.  So here is my question, is the concept of summer scarf an oxymoron?  Or just wrong?

I tend not to accessorize alot, I’m not a jingly jangly dresser.  But I really enjoy having something soft and floaty around my neck. I’ve been going through the pro’s and con’s of a summer scarf and here are my arguments in the affirmative.

How often are you almost out the door in the morning, rushing off to work, drop offs etc.  One last check in the mirror and dang, toothpaste on the neckline of your top/dress.  So hey presto, a scarf worn loosely draped around the neck – toothpaste stain gone.

Keeping with the same theme, once again, you are ready to go but notice that a morsel of your breakfast has ended up in the middle of your blouse.  Am I the only person this happens to?  Blogosphere is beginning to think I’m a grub! Anywho, a carefully tied knot can beautifully cover that food stain when you don’t have time to change your clothes.

Have you ever felt overlooked at work?  Found that your friends and colleagues get all the attention for their fashion flare?  One easy way to grab some attention for yourself is with a creatively tied head piece!  Zany, yes siree.

And finally, have you ever found yourself tired, cranky and desperately in need of a little nap?

But just can’t seem to settle?

Ask a colleague for a little hand, get them to wrap you ‘adult swaddle’ style (this involves quite a bit of rolling around so make sure you have enough floor space) and make sure you get them to come back in a pre-determined time.  Unless you have abs of steel or are related to David Copperfield.  Or you could be stuck on the floor for a very long time!

So dear reader, what do you think?  Summer scarf right or wrong?  Do you have any pro’s or cons you would like to share?

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leigh
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 19:10:49

    Ok, this is a first for me, commenting, I normally keep my thoughts to myself, but, scarf in summer, if any one can you can Lydia, that is wear a scarf in summer, it takes a certain type of person to pull it off, and that’s you, I think you have just turned the fashion industry over, single handedly, you go girl.

    Reply

  2. Kathy Beck
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 20:56:41

    Yes Lovely I am a scarf fan all year round since living in the UK – I tend to use them more as a quick way of getting warm in summer air-conditioned offices and also in winter in South East Queensland as a way to wear a summer outfit with a light jacket and still be warm when walking outside. Lydia – you are so cool you could wear anything anytime! I have so many scarves and find myself wanting to buy them all the time.

    Reply

  3. Sarah higgins
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 21:39:54

    Oh Lyd u make me laugh! I particularly like the head scarf look 😉 I think the summer scarf is very ‘in’… I noticed our lovely Sam was sporting a scarf today at work.. And she too looked lovely. Great blog lyd! X

    Reply

  4. Dee Morrison
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 22:19:52

    What about when that cool guy drives along, stops and offers to take you for a drive along the countryside in his convertible? You merely drape your scarf around your head to save your hair “do”! Just like Lauren Bacal (or was it Sophia Lauren) in the movies!

    Reply

  5. Mumabulous
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 09:24:05

    I like the look but unfortunately I cant do it. The scarf would just end up dangling in the toilet bowl when I’m assisting my three year old with her “training”.

    Reply

  6. Ana Foix
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 09:13:34

    Well, after reading your post…you have converted me! Where do I buy one? I would like one that matches my toothpaste (white blue green) just in case I can’t do the not properly…

    Reply

  7. Anna Freeman
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 17:23:02

    Lyds, you really are a Posh Spice! Even your watch matches your ‘on trend’ coloured jeans. The only problem with the summer scarf is that it detracts attention from your beauty.

    Reply

  8. Kim
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 10:17:19

    Oh dear god woman! You’re killing me. Swaddle me! I’m laughing too hard. I am a summer scarf convert. In fact, I have a scarf REMARKABLY similar to the one you’re sporting right here. You know – the head scarf is dual purpose too. If you get a little tired and need a little pillow for your lunch-time nap (what?! you don’t have those at work?) you have it built-in.
    I need to know though, the watch. Where do I buy the watch? I told you mine …

    Reply

    • lydiamissmoffat
      Nov 22, 2012 @ 18:28:13

      thanks Kim. The watch is the brand Nixon and came from a surf shop (my gorgeous M works there so bought it for me), you can find them online. That model is called The Dial x

      Reply

  9. Ali
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 21:41:44

    Summer in Adelaide can be too hot for a scarf, but my, I do like the idea of the adult-swaddle! It’s a beautiful scarf, by the way, where did you get it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

